Homemade “Ice Cream” Sandwiches

17 Jul

Very few people find similarities between school and summer. Well, except for the fact that they both begin with “s.” But one trait (or should I say treat) I’ve always associated with the two is ice cream sandwiches.

In elementary school, my mom would give me 50 cents one Friday a month so I could buy something sweet at lunch time. I’d always follow up my PB&J with and ICS. Licking the smooth vanilla ice cream off the sides and biting into that soft, chewy chocolate cookie was often the highlight of that particular day.

These days, however, I’m trying to watch my wallet and weight, and the in-store ice cream sandwiches are not friendly to either ($6 for 4four sandwiches?!). So tonight, with a little help from Pinterest, I decided to whip up my own frozen treats and I have to say, they were pretty damn sweet.

Homemade “Ice Cream” Sandwiches

Ingredients

  • 1 package of pudding mix, any flavor
  • 2% milk
  • 1 container fat-free Cool Whip
  • 1 package of graham crackers, any flavor

Directions

  1. Prepare pudding according to directions on the box. Make sure it is well blended
  2. Mix in container of Cool Whip. Let mixture sit in fridge for an hour.
  3. While mixture sets, break graham crackers in half.
  4. Scoop about 2 Tbsp. worth of mixture onto one cracker.
  5. Place second cracker on top and put sandwich on a tray.
  6. Continue until you run out of mixture or graham crackers.
  7. Place tray in the freezer for at least one hour. Once set, move sandwich to plastic bags.
  8. Take out and enjoy whenever you want a frozen sweet.

For a little something extra, roll the sandwich in sprinkles or chopped nuts before placing in the freezer.

What combinations of pudding and crackers will you try? Let us know!

One Response to “Homemade “Ice Cream” Sandwiches”

  1. Leslie K. R. July 17, 2012 at 7:08 pm #

    Your words above, “Life’s Short, Eat Dessert First” prompted me as I prepared my first mral in my new apartment yesterday, I started my meal with a mini ice cream sandwich much like the one you described. t was most enjoyable.How coincidental that you would then write about ice cream sandwiches. Now I will have to trynyour recipe!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

