Coconut and Pecan Equals Crazy Delicious

25 Feb

When it comes to children, they say the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree. I like to think I fall somewhere between Momma and Pappa tree, otherwise known and Marge and Hap. Especially in terms of treats. Like my mom, I love adding nuts to any dessert and like my dad, I can’t say no to coconut. So why not combine the two into the ultimate sweet treat. With a little inspiration from Insomnia Cookies, I created my own Coconut Pecan Cookies.

Coconut Pecan Cookies

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup flour
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 3/4 cup uncooked oats
  • 2 cup shredded coconut
  • 1 cup chopped pecans (Not a fan of pecans? Swap this for a different nut.)

Directions

  1. Pre-heat oven 350 degrees.
  2. Cream butter, brown sugar, and sugar.
  3. Add eggs and vanilla extract.
  4. In separate bowl, combine flour, salt, baking soda, and oats.
  5. Slowly add dry ingredients to butter mixture, mix well.
  6. Stir in coconut and pecans.
  7. Drop mixture onto baking sheet, keeping drops two inches apart.
  8. Bake 10 minutes, or until cookies are slightly golden.
  9. Let cool and enjoy. Yields 48 cookies.

This is the perfect recipe for a February night. I made them for my friend and he LOVED them. How do the cookies turn out for you?

Hugs and Hershey Kisses,

Leah

2 Responses to “Coconut and Pecan Equals Crazy Delicious”

  1. nightdispatcher February 25, 2012 at 10:40 pm #

    Does this imply that both of your parents are nuts?

    • Leah R February 25, 2012 at 10:57 pm #

      Haha. Well they are a bit nutty, but I guess that’s why I love them.

Leave a Reply

