Lemon Ricotta Cookies

1 Apr

April always lifts my spirit. I don’t know whether it’s the extra sunshine or the added color from flowers, but this month makes me happy. Why not celebrate with a seasonal sweet treat? When the weather gets warmer, however, I prefer to eat lighter treats. Less triple-layer chocolate cake, and more strawberry shortcake. So when I came across a recipe for lemon ricotta cookies, I couldn’t resists.

I admit, I hesitated at first. When my aunt makes her famous ricotta cookies, they have the texture of an Italian dough cookie or Russian tea cakes. But after seeing pictures of these thin cookies, I could tell they’d be a lighter fair. Once I bit into one, I knew I made the right choice. Taking a bite into this citrus cookie was like biting into cotton candy, without the sugar rush.

Lemon Ricotta Cookies.

 

Ingredients

 

  • 2 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup softened, unsalted butter
  • 2 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 15 ounce whole-milk ricotta cheese
  • 3 tbsp fresh lemon juice
  • Zest of 1 lemon

Directions

  1. Pre-heat over to 375 degrees.
  2. Mix flour, baking powder, and salt in a bowl.
  3. In a separate bowl, beat eggs and sugar.
  4. Add eggs, and blend.
  5. Add ricotta cheese, lemon juice, and lemon zest, and blend.
  6. Slowly stir in the dry ingredients.
  7. Using a melon baller, place drops of the dough onto baking sheet.
  8. Place in oven and bake from 12 to 15 minutes (when the cookies turn a golden brown).

NOTE: Not a lemon person? Try using a different type of citrus. For some reason I think grapefruit would be amazing.

Like the whoopie pie dough, the dough for lemon ricotta cookies is extremely sticky. Since I was without a melon baller, I decided to use a piping bag to make the cookie dough drops. The sizes of the cookies varied because of this, but the taste didn’t.

Leave a Reply

