Remembering a Sweet Lady

1 Jun

It’s official: I’m the worst blogger ever.

Ok, maybe not the worst. I mean, there are some really bad blogs out there. However, to go a whole month without posting, especially as a journalist, is almost unforgivable. But hopefully you can all find it in your hearts to forgive me.

So why did I decide to return today? Well, the main reason is I finally have the time. In the past month I’ve earned three additional job titles (aka more work for the same pay), which keeps me at the office late. I also spent most of my weekends babysitting, and any babysitter / nanny / mother will tell you the last thing they want to do after taking care of kids is baking or writing.

There is, however, another reason I chose to come back to the blog world. A year ago today, my grandmother passed away. Gammy, as we called her, was an amazing woman. God dealt her some difficulties, but she stayed strong and managed to come out on top, turning every negative experience into a positive.

She was wise; knowing the answers to every Wheel of Fortune puzzle, and offering advise when asked. She was compassionate; spending her spare time with charities, and opening her arms and heart to all. Everyone who knew Gammy could feel her love.

I have many memories of my grandmother. The best ones, however,  involve her baking something for me and my cousins. Every Easter, she’d spend days kneading dough and baking soft, golden loaves of bread. Although we’d smear on some butter or add a scoop of ricotta, her bread was best when it was naked and fresh from the oven.

Whenever my sister and I slept over her house, we’d wake up to a cracking sound and a salty smell – a sign that she was making her famous fried dough. Even my cousins, who were too scared to sleep in her living room, would run downstairs to snag some sugar covered goodness.

Whenever I’d visit Gammy, she always serve me some type of sweet. In between bites, she’d tell me how proud she was of me. Sometimes, I even think she admired me for stepping outside the comforts of home to follow my dreams. I want to continue to make her proud, because Lord knows she’s still bragging about her grandchildren up in heaven.

So I returned The Sweet Treat because it is my dream to become a food writer someday. . . or to own a bakery. And Gammy would be pretty pissed if I didn’t continue to follow that dream and make her proud.

Mary “Gammy” Chiaradio

 

—–

Do you have a special food memory of your grandmother? Share it below!

4 Responses to “Remembering a Sweet Lady”

  1. Rob Christina June 1, 2012 at 12:39 pm #

    Both of my grandmothers were special ladies – both tough and gentle at the same time.
    My “Nanny” was 82 when she passed away. My “Nana” was almost 99.
    I have far too many special memories of both to share here.
    Your “Gammy” was a wonderful woman…
    Love You Kiddo…

  2. Dawn Pappadia June 1, 2012 at 2:23 pm #

    Very nice Leah. Aunt Mary was a very special woman and touch many lives. I will be forever grateful to her for all that she did for me.
    Hold on to the memories and find peace in knowing that you will see her again.
    Love You,
    Cousin Dawnie

    • me June 1, 2012 at 11:51 pm #

      A nice tribute to an amazing human being who was the wisest person i know. I miss her very very much

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tie-Dyed Cupcakes « The Sweet Treat - June 6, 2012

    […] would also like to thank everyone for their kind thoughts regarding my grandmother. We all experience loss in life, but it’s important that we keep the person alive through our […]

Leave a Reply

