Tie-Dyed Cupcakes

6 Jun

Happy Hump Day Sweet Treaters!

Wednesdays are the hardest days to get through. You’ve all ready put in two days at the office (although it seems like more), and you have two more to get through when the day ends. Thankfully, we have the weekends to relax and release some stress before the week starts again.

For me, however, the last two weekends have been anything but relaxing. Between train trips, babysitting adventures, and a wedding, life was more chaotic than clam. Despite this buisy schedule, I still found time to squeeze in some dessert.

Last weekend (Memorial Day weekend), I traveled home for some doctor appointments. Of course, it wouldn’t be a trip to Westerly without seeing some of my friends. On Friday night, I drove up to Hartford to visit my friend Meghan. The next day we ran Color Me Rad, a 5k race where attendants throw colored corn starch on you ever kilometer. Sounds fun, right? It was. I highly recommend you register for one in your area. Fair warning: it takes two showers for the color to come off.

Since Meghan and I are cupcake enthusiast and since I can’t show up somewhere empty handed, I decided to make Tie-Dyed Cupcakes. Appropriate for our running adventure. I thought they would be difficult to make, because when so many colors come together they turn brown. But with a little patients, they ended up looking great (and tasting even better).

I must make a confession: given my time crunch, I opted for boxed mix and canned frosting. I always encourage making treats from scratch, but it doesn’t hurt to take a little help when you need it.

myborrowedheaven.blogspot.com

Ingredients

  • 1 box of white cake mix (you can use yellow, but some of the colors don’t come out as well)
  • Food coloring, assortment
  • 1 can frosting (you can use any flavor you want)
  • Sprinkles (optional)
  • Plastic bowls (one for each color you use)
  • Toothpick

Directions

  1. Pre-heat oven according to mix directions.
  2. Prepare batter according to mix directions.
  3. Divide batter among bowls.
  4. Squeeze a couple drops of food coloring into each bowl and stir to combine. The more coloring you add, the brighter your cupcakes will be.
  5. Using a spoon, drop a little of each color into your cupcake liners. Try alternating the order for variety.
  6. Using a toothpick, swirl the batters together. Only swirl once or twice to avoid “browning.”
  7. Place in oven and bake according to mix directions.
  8. Let cool and frost.

 

These cupcakes are perfect for a kid’s party, color run, or just to get you through the hump day.

Enjoy!

I would also like to thank everyone for their kind thoughts regarding my grandmother. We all experience loss in life, but it’s important that we keep the person alive through our words and actions.

Leave a Reply

