Bacon-Cheddar Muffuns

24 Jun

Happy Sunday Sweet Treaters. I hope you’re having a great weekend and, for the New York readers, I hope you’re surviving the heat wave.

Given the spike in temperatures, you have to be wondering what would provoke me to turn on the over. The answer: a Sunday brunch in the park with my amazing mentor and friend, Nara.

I wanted to make muffins, but I also wanted to make something with some nutritional value. After all, Nara and I are both dancers and very conscious about our health. So rather that whip up a cupcake disguised as a muffin, I went for something savory.

Now before you jump on my back about this being a sweet blog, remember that bakers can dabble in the savory as well. Heck, even ice cream shops can do that!

I found this recipe on Macaroni and Cheesecake, a truly food-gasmic site, but with a few tweaks I made it my own!

Bacon Cheddar Muffins w/ fruit salad.

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 Tbsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 Tbsp. sugar
  • 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese
  • 1 package bacon, cooked and crumbled (I opted for turkey-bacon because I’m not a fan of pork. You can also use Canadian bacon)
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
  2. Whisk flour, baking powder, and sugar together.
  3. Fold in cheese & bacon crumbles.
  4. In a separate bowl, beat together egg, milk, and oil.
  5. Combine wet and dry ingredients together.
  6. Fill muffin tins 2/3 full with batter.
  7. Bake for 15 to 20 minutes until toothpick inserted comes out clean.

Serving Suggestions:

  • Serve with fruit salad for a fully balanced meal.
  • Serve with a moved green salad, making for a great lunch or dinner.

What’s your favorite brunch treat? Let us know!

Leave a Reply

